

Executive Committee | Summary Minutes

Special Called Meeting 8:30 a.m., Wednesday, July 21, 2021 Access via Zoom or Conference Call

https://zoom.us/j/99232928598?pwd=Z0dpTGJ0ZGxJbzFmM3ByNzM2azFLZz09

Dial In: +1 346 248 7799 Meeting ID: 992 3292 8598

Password: 842322

Present (22)

Judge Paul Pape, Bastrop County, **Chair**Mayor Brandt Rydell, City of Taylor, **1st Vice Chair**Judge James Oakley, Burnet County, **2nd Vice Chair**Mayor Jane Hughson, City of San Marcos, **Immediate Past Chair**

Mayor Pro Tem Lyle Nelson, City of Bastrop Council Member Kevin Hight, City of Bee Cave Judge Brett Bray, Blanco County Commissioner Joe Don Dockery, Burnet County Judge Hoppy Haden, Caldwell County Judge Joe Weber, Fayette County Mayor Pro Tem Kevin Pitts, City of Georgetown Commissioner Debbie Ingalsbe, Hays County
Ms. Sandy Cox, City of Lakeway
Mayor Christine Sederquist, City of Leander
Commissioner Steven Knobloch, Lee County
Council Member Matthew Baker, City of Round Rock
Council Member Janice Bruno, City of Smithville
Commissioner Ann Howard, Travis County
Commissioner Brigid Shea, Travis County
Commissioner Russ Boles, Williamson County
Commissioner Cynthia Long, Williamson County
Representative Terry Wilson

Absent (7)

Mayor Lew White, City of Lockhart, Secretary
Judge Ron Cunningham, Llano County, Parliamentarian
Council Member Mackenzie Kelly, City of Austin
Council Member Mike Heath, City of Pflugerville

Representative John Cyrier Representative Celia Israel Representative Erin Zwiener

1. Call to Order by the Chair

Judge Pape confirmed a quorum and called the meeting to order at 8:33 a.m.

Consider Approving Redistribution of the Plan Year 2022 General Victim Assistance Direct Services
Program Projects Funding for Consideration by the Public Safety Officer's Criminal Justice Division,
Office of the Governor

Betty Voights, Executive Director

Ms. Voights summarized processes and events that happened during the year regarding five categories of 2022 criminal justice grant recommendations made in April and May to the Criminal Justice Division, Office of the Governor, and added that our region was oversubscribed in all of them. She explained that the Office of the Governor asked CAPCOG and several other COGs if they wanted the opportunity to reconsider their recommendations for the General Victim Assistance, Direct Services Program; since our board had voiced concerns in May about not distributing the funding to cover more projects, she had accepted their offer. She noted that a work group of Commissioner Long, Commissioner Howard, Council Member Heath, and Ms. Cox had put in much work on reviewing several scenarios to get funding to reach as many projects as possible.

Judge Pape then indicated the work group had provided two possible funding scenarios and asked Commissioner Long to explain them. Commissioner Long stated that one funding scenario would reduce the previous grant

received or a new project being recommended by 15 percent and cap projects from receiving more funds than they received in the previous year. The second scenario just reduced the recommended funding by 15 percent. Both options continued to fund projects in their priority order until funding ran out. Commissioner Long mentioned these choices were hard as all the projects receiving recommendations can be extremely valuable to their communities. Ms. Voights reaffirmed to the board that CAPCOG will be changing its processes next year to recommend funding more equitably across more projects.

A motion was made by Commissioner Long to adopt the scenario that would change the recommendations by decreasing projects previously awarded funding by 15 percent of their last grant amount and reducing new project applicants by 15 percent of their requested amounts. Ms. Cox seconded the motion. A secondary motion was made by Commissioner Howard to only reduced the funding recommendations by 15 percent. Mayor Hughson seconded. Commissioner Long noted that Commissioner Howard's motion would mean two less projects would receive funding recommendations. Discussion continued about trying to make sure the funding recommendations where spread throughout the region before Judge Pape called for a roll call vote on each motion.

A vote was taken on the substitute motion made by Commissioner Howard. Votes were recorded as follows:

Judge Paul Pape – Yes
Mayor Brandt Rydell – No
Judge James Oakley – Yes
Mayor Jane Hughson – No, noting this was not an easy decision
Mayor Pro Tem Lyle Nelson – No
Council Member Kevin Hight – No
Judge Brett Bray – No
Commissioner Joe Don Dockery – Yes
Judge Hoppy Haden – Yes
Judge Joe Weber – No
Mayor Pro Tem Kevin Pitts – No

Commissioner Debbie Ingalsbe – Yes Ms. Sandy Cox – No Mayor Christine Sederquist – No Commissioner Steven Knobloch – No Council Member Matthew Baker – No Council Member Janice Bruno – No Commissioner Ann Howard – Yes Commissioner Brigid Shea – Yes Commissioner Russ Boles – No Commissioner Cynthia Long – No

The motion failed by a vote of 7 to 14.

A vote was then taken on the original motion made by Commissioner Long. Votes were recorded as follows:

Judge Paul Pape – Yes
Mayor Brandt Rydell – Yes
Judge James Oakley – Yes
Mayor Jane Hughson – Yes
Mayor Pro Tem Lyle Nelson – Yes
Council Member Kevin Hight – Yes
Judge Brett Bray – Yes
Commissioner Joe Don Dockery – No
Judge Hoppy Haden – Yes
Judge Joe Weber – Yes
Mayor Pro Tem Kevin Pitts – Yes
Commissioner Debbie Ingalsbe – Yes
Ms. Sandy Cox – Yes

Mayor Christine Sederquist – Yes
Commissioner Steven Knobloch – Yes
Council Member Matthew Baker – Yes
Council Member Janice Bruno – Yes
Commissioner Ann Howard – Abstained, objected to
how the recommendations were made
Commissioner Brigid Shea – Yes, objected to how the
recommendations were made
Commissioner Russ Boles – Yes
Commissioner Cynthia Long – Yes

The motion passed by a vote of 19 to 1 with one abstention.

The board asked CAPCOG staff to notify the program's applicants as soon as possible about the funding recommendation changes.

S 11 /21

3. Adjourn

Judge Pape adjourned the meeting at 8:54 a.m.

Mayor Lew White, Secretary

Executive Committee

Capital Area Council of Governments